thelittlegrayboy:

How She Got Away

“She went inside. Stole things. Walked away and disappeared into the shadows. She was a master of beauty and disguise.”

We shot Katarina at the School of Design and Arts Campus. Prior to this, I only had 3 days to set up a team. I even had to invite a student to be my assistant because I really can’t handle the pressure of just shooting in 3-4 hours.

Everyone was starring at her. It’s not often that an international model would shoot in campus. The Security guards who would usually pester us didn’t even bother us. People were surprised. The team loved the attention Katarina drew. But we had to shoo these people away.

The shoot was inspired by those old Film Noir, Hitchcock films. I loved how shadows show mystery. A story could be made up around simple things by just adding the right light.

The Big Sleep
She was worth a stare. She was trouble. – Humphrey Bogart as Philip Marlowe (The Big Sleep, 1946)

Katarina was fun to be with. Shooting her is a breeze. She’s one of the few models who I didn’t need to direct anymore. She’s this good but to my surprise, she’s never done Philippine Fashion Week. She told us that they don’t really pay big. Saying she’s better off doing TVC’s. I guess I have to agree; Katarina’s done really big TV commercials. What an ordinary model at fashion week can earn (and still depending on the number of shows); she can earn in only one day.

Now I leave you to guess how old she is.

Photography • Patrick Segovia
Styling • Rochelle Rafon
HMUA • Teena Arches
Crew • Trixie Beredo, Justin Lim, Beverly Kho
Model • Katarina Nemcova

Special Thanks to the following.

Jerry Evangelio

Cole Vintage

Graxie